top of page

A Room With a View


One of our pre-trip assignments was to watch the film A Room With a View. I was going to have my fiance order it for Darby and I to watch through Amazon Prime, but my mom decided to download it on her computer instead. This took a while, so while we waited, Darby and I went down to the pond near my apartments and fed the ducks until the movie was ready. Once it was, we weren't really sure what to expect. We knew it was an older movie surrounding main character Lucy Honeychurch as she traveled to Italy. Darby and I were suddenly in love with the cast because Lucy was played Helena Bonham-Carter who plays the villain in Harry Potter, Belaltrix lastrange, while the older cousin she travels with is played by Maggie Smith who plays another large role in Harry Potter, as Professor Mcgonagall! We were so star struck in the beginning of the film, and we came up with a little head cannon that there could be a link between films where in the Harry Potter franchise, Professor Mcgonagall and Belatrix are secretly related. It was fun for us to play with that idea for a little bit while getting into the film. Besides that, the dynamic duo of Lucy Honeychurch and George Emerson reminded me quite a bit of Princess Buttercup and Wesley from The Princess Bride, while Cecil reminded me of a not-so-awful version of Prince Humperdink. All in all, the movie wasn't half bad and we found it somewhat entertaining. I don't have any comments about the prolonged bathing scene in the river though... just that the scene was about 5 minutes too long.


You Might Also Like:

thank you for visiting

bottom of page